Monday, May 20, 2024

OAU at 60: See How the Journey Started


Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) is a federal government owned and operated Nigerian university.

The university is in the ancient city of Ile-Ife, Osun State, Nigeria. The university was founded in 1961 and classes commenced in October 1962 as the University of Ife by the regional government of Western Nigeria, led by late chief Samuel Ladoke Akintola, and was renamed Obafemi Awolowo University on 12 May 1987 in honour of Chief Obafemi Awolowo (1909–1987), first premier of the Western Region of Nigeria.

Great Ife @ 60

History of Obafemi Awolowo University

To commemorate the diamond jubilee of the Great Citadel, it is quite necessary that you learn about how it all started.

Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife is one of three Universities established in Nigeria between 1961 and 1962 as a result of the report submitted to the Federal Government in September, 1960, by a Commission it appointed in April 1959 under the Chairmanship of Sir Eric Ashby, Master of Clare College, Cambridge, to survey the needs of post-secondary and higher education in Nigeria over the next twenty years. On 8th June, 1961 the Law providing for the establishment of the Provisional Council of the University was formally inaugurated under the Chairmanship of Chief Rotimi Williams.

On 11th June, 1970, an Edict known as the University of Ife edict, 1970 was promulgated by the Government of the Western State to replace the Provisional Council Law of 8th June, 1961. This Edict has since been amended by the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife (Amended) Edict No. 112 of 1975 (Transitional Provisions) Decree No.

23 of 1975. This new Decree effected a takeover of the Obafemi Awolowo University by the Federal Military Government and established a Provisional Council as an interim governing body of the University which shall subject to the general direction of the Head of the Federal Government, control the policies and finances of the University and manage its affairs. This Provisional Council has since been replaced by a Governing Council.

The University started with five FacultiesAgriculture, Arts, Economics and Social studies (now Social Sciences), Law and Science. Six new faculties have since been added, namely the Faculty of Education (established on 1st October, 1967), the Faculty of Pharmacy (established on 1st October, 1969), the Faculties Technology and Health Sciences (now College of Health Sciences) (both established on 1st October, 1960), Faculty of Administration with effect from 1st October 1979) and Faculty of Environmental Design and Management (established on April 6, 1982).

In 1992, the University established a collegiate system with five Colleges. The system did not function effectively and was abandoned after two years. However, the Postgraduate College and the College of Health Sciences were retained. The College of Health Sciences now comprises of the Faculties of Basic Medical Sciences, Clinical Sciences and Dentistry.

The following other Institutes and major units exist in the University:

The Adeyemi College of Education located in Ondo
The Institute of Agricultural Research and Training, Ibadan The Natural History Museum
The Institute of Ecology and Environmental Studies The Centre for Gender and social Policy Studies
The Centre for Industrial Research and Development The Institute of Public Health
The Institute of Cultural Studies
The Technology Planning and Development Unit The Computer Centre
The Drug Research and Production Unit
The Equipment Maintenance and Development Centre The Central Technological Laboratory Workshop
The Central Science Laboratory The Distance Learning Centre
Finally, some other agencies over which the University has no direct, or, in some cases limited control, have premises within the University.

The Regional Centre for Training in Aerospace Surveys
The National central for Technology Management
The Centre for Energy Research and Development
The African Regional Centre for Space Science and Education in English. The student population has rising steadily from 244 in 1962/63 to over 30,000 at present.

The entire member and the management of Inside OAU innovations wishes the Great Ife a very happy anniversary and pray that the University will continue to flourish and produce amazing students and future leaders of the World.

Obafemi Awolowo University,Ile-Ife (OAU) Anthem:

Great Ife Anthem

Great Ife! Great Ife!

Africa’s most beautiful campus.

Conscious, vigilant, progressive

Aluta against all oppression

Forward ever, backward never

For learning and culture, sports and struggle

Great Ife! I love you

There’s only one Great Ife in the universe

Another Great Ife is a counterfeit

Great! Great! Great! Great! Great!

Of the Greatest Ife! Great!

Articulate Ife! Articulate!

Ever Conscious Ife! Ever conscious!

©Enilolobo Emmanuel and Awotunde Theophilic


Stay connected to Inside OAU media for updates, information and the things you desire to read about.

Read more

Local News