Monday, June 17, 2024

#NigeriaDecides2023 – See the results of Nigeria Presidential Elections from 1979 till Date


As Nigeria prepares for another round of presidential elections on February 25 2023, it’s worth taking a look back at the country’s political history, how presidential elections have shaped Nigeria over the years, and the result since inception. Since its first presidential election in 1979, Nigeria has gone through a series of political, social, and economic changes. In this article, we’ll take a closer look at Nigeria’s presidential election history and how it has influenced the country.

1)The First Presidential Election in 1979

Meet the President of Nigeria From 1979 till date (2023)

Result of The First Presidential Election in 1979

  • Shehu Shagari (NPN)- 5,668.857 (33.77%)
  • Obafemi Awolowo(UPN)- 4,916,651 (29.18%)
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe (NPP) – 2,822,523 (16.75%)

After years of military rule, Nigeria transitioned to democracy in 1979 and held her first presidential election in 1979. An election that featured five political parties, with Alhaji Shehu Shagari of the National Party of Nigeria (NPN) emerging as the winner. His main opposition, Chief Obafemi Awolowo of the Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN), had won in the western states of Nigeria but failed to secure enough votes to win the presidency.

Shagari’s government promised to address the needs of the people and develop Nigeria, but it was beset with problems. The country was still dealing with the aftermath of the civil war(1967-1970) and was plagued by corruption, which was rampant in the government.

2) 1983 Presidential Election

Meet the President of Nigeria From 1979 till date (2023)

Result of The First Presidential Election in 1983

  • Shehu Shagari (NPN)- 12,081,471 (47.51%)
  • Obafemi Awolowo(UPN)- 7,907,209 (31.09%)
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe (NPP) – 3,557,113 (13.99%)

During the 1983 Presidential Election, Shehu Shagari emerged victorious over Awolowo once again, receiving 12,081,471 votes, while Chief Awolowo, the UPN candidate, secured 7,907,209 votes. Unfortunately, later that year, the Shagari administration was ousted by a military coup headed by Major-General Muhammadu Buhari.


3) The Babangida Era and the Transition to Democracy

Meet the President of Nigeria From 1979 till date (2023)

After a series of military coups, General Ibrahim Babangida became Nigeria’s leader in 1985. He promised to restore the country back to democracy and he began a series of reforms aimed at achieving this goal. He created a new constitution, allowed for more political parties, and promised to hold democratic elections.

However, Babangida’s transition to democracy was fraught with problems. He postponed the presidential election several times and was eventually forced to step down in 1993 due to political pressure. He was replaced by another military ruler, Sani Abacha, who continued to delay the transition to democracy and cracked down on political opposition.

4) 1993 Presidential Election


Result of The First Presidential Election in 1993

  • Moshood Kahimawo Abiola (SDP) – 8,341,309 (58.36%)
  • Bashir Tofa, (NRC) – 5,942,087 (41.64%)

The June 12, 1993, presidential election holds significant historical importance in Nigeria. During the election, Moshood Kahimawo Abiola (MKO), the presidential candidate for the Social Democratic Party (SDP), emerged victorious over Bashir Tofa, the candidate for the National Republican Convention (NRC), with 8,341,309 votes compared to Tofa’s 5,942,087 votes. Unfortunately, the military ruler at the time, Ibrahim Babangida, annulled the election. Later that year, General Sani Abacha staged a coup and took control of the government, ruling Nigeria until his passing on June 8th, 1998.

5)1999 Presidential Election & The Return to Democracy in 1999

Result of The First Presidential Election in 1999

  • Olusegun Obasanjo (PDP) – 18,738,154 (62.78%)
  • Olu Falae (AD) – 11,110,287 (37.22%)

It wasn’t until 1999 that Nigeria finally transitioned back to democracy after years of military rule. The presidential election that year featured a total of 17 candidates, with Olusegun Obasanjo of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) emerging as the winner. Obasanjo’s government promised to address the country’s problems, including corruption and poverty.

6) 2003 Presidential Election

Result of The First Presidential Election in 2003

  • Olusegun Obasanjo (PDP) – 24,456,140  (62.78%)
  • Olu Falae (AD) – 12,710,022 (37.22%)

Obasanjo was re-elected in 2003, but his government was beset with problems. Despite his efforts to address corruption, it remained rampant, and his administration was criticized for its handling of the economy and security issues. In 2007, he was succeeded by Umaru Yar’Adua, who won the presidential election that year.

6) 2007 Presidential Election-  The Yar’Adua and Jonathan Years

Meet the President of Nigeria From 1979 till date (2023)

Result of The First Presidential Election in 2007

  • Umaru Yar’Adua, – 24,638,063 (PDP)
  • Muhammadu Buhari – 6,605,299 (ANPP)
  • Atiku Abubakar – 2,637,848 (AC)

Yar’Adua’s presidency was marked by health problems, and he spent a significant amount of time receiving medical treatment overseas. He eventually passed away in 2010, and his vice president, Goodluck Jonathan, assumed the presidency for about a year .

7) 201 1 Presidential Election

Meet the President of Nigeria From 1979 till date (2023)

Result of The First Presidential Election in 2011

  • Goodluck Jonathan (PDP) – 22,495,187 (58.87%)
  • Muhammadu Buhari (ANPP)- 12,214,853 (31.97%)
  • Nuhu Ribadu (AC) – 2,079,151 (5.44%)

Jonathan was elected in his own right in 2011, promising to continue with the reforms started by Obasanjo and Yar’Adua. However, Jonathan’s government was also beset with problems. The country was dealing with a growing insurgency in the north, corruption remained rampant, and the economy was struggling. Despite these challenges, Jonathan was contested again in 2015, but he lost the election to the former military head of state General Muhammadu Buhari.

8)201 5 Presidential Election- Buhari’s Presidency

Result of The First Presidential Election in 2015

  • Muhammadu Buhari (APC)- 15,424,921 (53.96%)
  • Goodluck Jonathan (PDP) -12,853,162 (44.96%)

Muhammadu Buhari won the 2015  & 2019 presidential elections, defeating Goodluck Jonathan and Atiku Abubakar respectively promising to address corruption, insecurity, and economic problems. His government has made some progress in these areas, but the country still faces significant challenges..

9) 201 9 Presidential Election – The Return of Buhari

Result of The First Presidential Election in 2019

  • Muhammadu Buhari (APC) – 15,191,847 (55.6%)
  • Goodluck Jonathan (PDP)-11,262,978 (41.2%)

General Muhammadu Buhari was re-elected for a second term in 2019. During his tenure, Buhari has faced several challenges, including the Boko Haram insurgency, banditry, and kidnappings. He has also faced criticisms from some Nigerians for his handling of the country’s economy, the increased level of insecurity, and the government’s response to the #EndSARS protests. However, Buhari is also credited with some achievements, such as his efforts to fight corruption, improve power supply, and diversify the country’s economy. He has also embarked on several infrastructure projects, including the construction of new roads and railways.

9) 2023 Presidential Election – who is next ?

Every Nigerian citizen is expected to exercise their political rights on Saturday 25th February 2023. The three leading candidates are Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu(APC), Atiku Abubakar(PDP), and Peter Obi(LP). Let’s ensure to cast our vote wisely and vote for the right candidate that we believe can move Nigeria forward. God bless Nigeria.


Read more

Local News